Back to top anchor

Arts & culture

Back to content top anchor

Heart of the City brings snippets of city centre life to light along Queen Street

News story
Issue date: 
Tue 20 Oct 2020

Time spent relaxing in Albert Park, texts between friends about a night on the town and a 1960s vision of the City Rail Link are some of the inspirations for new writing Heart of the City has put on display along Queen Street.

Sparking joy with neon lights in trees this winter.

News story
Issue date: 
Wed 22 Jul 2020

If you've walked around the city centre lately, you've probably spotted the vivid neon lighting we've added to trees in Vulcan Lane, Lorne Street, Freyberg Place and Aotea Square to brighten up the grey winter days.

Call for proposals: Changing Lanes

News story
Issue date: 
Thu 28 May 2020

Changing Lanes is a collaborative project funded by Heart of the City and facilitated by Artweek Auckland.

The Heart of Auckland City In Your Words

News story
Issue date: 
Tue 26 May 2020

Heart of the City is offering $500 prizes for tiny pieces of writing - 20 words or fewer - by local creatives.

One year to go until the start of the 36th America's Cup

News story
Issue date: 
Mon 9 Mar 2020

The eyes of the world will be on New Zealand - and Auckland's city centre - this time next year. Last Friday marked exactly one year until the start of the 36th America's Cup.

Heart of the City gives Aucklanders 50 reasons to visit the city centre

News story
Issue date: 
Tue 3 Mar 2020

Heart of the City is encouraging Aucklanders to come out and experience the exciting things going on in the city centre over the next few months. 

Call for sponsors for a special 2021 public art trail

News story
Issue date: 
Tue 4 Feb 2020

WIN: A double pass to this one-night-only Auckland Arts Festival show

News story
Issue date: 
Fri 17 Jan 2020

Street performers bring festive spirit to Auckland’s city centre for late night Christmas shopping event

Press release
Issue date: 
Wed 4 Dec 2019

"Late Night Christmas" returns to the heart of Auckland city – Thursday 19 December, 5-8pm

Late Night Christmas Thurs 19 Dec - share the invitation!

News story
Issue date: 
Fri 6 Dec 2019

Our free Christmas street festival is back on Thursday 19 December.