Back to top anchor
Back to content top anchor

We welcome our new Executive Committee members

News story
Tuesday 31 Oct 2017

At the Heart of the City AGM last week, Murray Crane and Celia Hay were elected to the Heart of the City Executive Committee - we welcome them warmly. 

Murray Crane has worked for 30 years in the High Street District, the last 20 spent steering his eponymous label Crane Brothers. A pioneer of premium menswear retail in New Zealand his brand continues to grow. Murray is passionate about central city service and retail and the role it will play in Auckland's continued development.

His long association with the city has done nothing to diminish his enthusiasm. “I have worked in the central city 6 days a week for the last 30 years. That's 9000 lunches, nearly 18000 commutes and countless other things. I still look forward to every day.”

Celia Hay is the founder of the New Zealand School of Food & Wine, which has been based in the city centre's Viaduct Harbour area since 2012. Celia is a qualified chef and wine expert and holds an MBA from Canterbury University.  

Celia is excited about the transformation that Auckland is undergoing as a city. "For me, every day I am walking, running, driving, busing around the centre of this city. I can see the construction of new buildings, the opening up of new space, upgraded roads, new views. I am looking to the future of Auckland as New Zealand’s largest city that can comfortably take its place at the table of great cities of the world."

In other news from the AGM, we are pleased to confirm that current committee members Regan Hall and Paddy Stafford-Bush were re-elected for another term, joining Chair, Martin Snedden, Jason Copus, Sarah Hull, Greg Moyle and Shale Chambers.

We also acknowledge the valuable service over many years by our retiring committee members Chris Cherry, Shane McMahon and Andrew Stringer and thank them wholeheartedly for their contribution to Heart of the City and the city centre community.

Find out more about our Executive Committee.